Contact: Dannielle Lipinski,, 443-617-7257
September 16, 2022                               

Wes Moore, Sen. President Bill Ferguson, Speaker Adrienne Jones Highlight Maryland LCV’s Changemakers Event

Annapolis, MD – Senate President Bill Ferguson (district 46, Baltimore City) and House Speaker Adrienne Jones (district 10, Baltimore County) were honored as the Maryland League of Conservation Voters’ Legislators of the Year at the organization’s September 15 event, Changemakers: Celebrating Environmental Leaders. The pair were recognized for their leadership roles in the passage of the monumental Climate Solutions Now Act during the 2022 General Assembly legislative session.

More than 350 attended the event at the Institute of Marine and Environmental Technology in Baltimore’s Inner Harbor, including a host of federal, state, and local elected officials, and scores of Maryland business leaders, political candidates, environmental advocates, and philanthropists.

“The Climate Solutions Now Act is the country’s most significant state-wide climate legislation and positions Maryland as the national leader in addressing this urgent problem,” said Maryland LCV Executive Director Kim Coble. “Senate President Ferguson and House Speaker Jones were steadfast in their efforts to ensure this landmark legislation made it across the finish line with strong support.”

President Ferguson, a lifelong Maryland resident, is serving his third term as the State Senator for Maryland’s 46th Legislative District. In January 2020, he was unanimously elected to serve as President of the Maryland Senate, making him the second youngest Senate President in state history.

Speaker Adrienne A. Jones, who has been a delegate since 1997, shattered two glass ceilings when she was unanimously elected by the full House of Delegates to serve as the first African-American and the first woman Speaker of the Maryland House of Delegates in history. Prior to being Speaker, Speaker Jones also held the distinction of being the first African American woman to serve as Speaker Pro Tem in the Maryland House of Delegates, serving in that capacity under Speaker Mike Busch for 16 years.

“I’m honored to be named Legislator of the Year alongside House Speaker Jones,” said President Bill Ferguson. “The Climate Solutions Act of 2022 is just a starting point, and the General Assembly has more to do in the future to secure the future health of all Marylanders.”

“It’s an honor to receive the Legislator of the Year Award and recognition for the work the House has done to protect our natural resources and respond to climate change,” said Speaker Adrienne A. Jones. “Every Marylander should have clean air, clean water and resilient communities.

The event also featured a discussion with Maryland Gubernatorial Candidate Wes Moore about his environmental platform. Maryland LCV was the only major Maryland environmental group that endorsed Moore in the primaries.

“Wes Moore has developed a strong climate platform that includes a clear commitment to addressing environmental justice,” said Maryland LCV’s Coble. “At a time of deep political division and cynicism, Candidate Moore has also shown a remarkable ability to inspire Marylanders on all sides of the political spectrum. Those skills are essential to meeting the environmental challenges confronting our state.”

Maryland LCV’s Changemakers event was presented by title sponsor Ørsted Offshore North America. “We were delighted to partner with Maryland LCV through the Changemakers event,” said David Hardy, CEO of Ørsted Offshore North America. “We share their goals of helping Maryland become a national leader in clean energy solutions, as well as Maryland LCV’s commitment to environmental justice initiatives that ensure the state’s underserved communities have equal access to the opportunities created by offshore wind. Ørsted looks forward to working with Maryland LCV and supporting the State of Maryland in reaching its offshore wind goals.”


Maryland LCV is known for educating lawmakers and holding them accountable for their leadership and votes on key environmental issues. Their annual scorecard, along with other reports, help inform voters about their legislators’ records.