For Immediate Release
November 19, 2022

Maryland LCV Statement on Governor-elect Moore’s Climate Transition Team 

Annapolis MD – Gov.-elect Wes Moore yesterday identified the people who will lead his transition, including his Climate and Environment Executive Policy Committee, which will be headed up by Kim Coble, the Executive Director of the Maryland League of Conservation Voters; Ed Hatcher, founder and senior consultant of The Hatcher Group and former board chair of Maryland League of Conservation Voters; and Dr. Sacoby Wilson, the Director of the University of Maryland, College Park School of Public Health’s Center for Community Engagement, Environmental Justice and Health, recipient of the 2021 Maryland LCV’s John Kabler Award, and long-time partner of Maryland LCV.

In response, Maryland LCV released the following statement from Maryland LCV Board Chair Lynn Heller:

“It is crucial that Maryland makes immediate progress in implementing its landmark climate legislation, the Climate Solutions Now Act, and equitably moving the state toward 100 percent clean energy. With input from Maryland LCV, the Moore Campaign developed a strong climate platform that includes a clear commitment to addressing environmental injustice. Now, with Maryland LCV leaders and advisors, along with one of the pre-eminent national experts in environmental justice,  playing a key role in the Moore Administration’s climate and environmental policy efforts, we are confident that the Administration will hit the ground running and be well positioned to deliver on its environmental promises, to benefit the health and wellbeing of Marylanders across the state.”

The organization is also proud that four current Maryland LCV board members are joining other state-wide transition teams. Melanie Hartwig-Davis has been named to Attorney General- elect Anthony Brown’s team. Comptroller-elect Brooke Lierman tapped Nancy Kopp, Lance Davis, and Candace Dodson-Reed to help guide her transition.