Columbia, MD – On September 13, 2018, the Maryland League of Conservation Voters (LCV) announced the 2018 Environmental Scorecard. The annual report highlights the environmental voting record of all 188 legislators and describes the General Assembly’s overall record on those issues each year.

The organization reports that 2018 Session was a complicated year for the environment in the Maryland General Assembly. On the one hand, legislators did pass several bills of environmental importance and in multiple instances the environment was a bipartisan concern. While those bills were important, based on the 2018 Environmental Scorecard, leaders in the General Assembly lacked the courage to allow top environmental priorities for a vote in their committees. This inaction short changes Marylanders from truly understanding where their elected officials stand on top environmental issues in our state and further disenfranchises the voters in a key election year.

“Disappointingly, we saw long-time elected environmental champions fail to support environmental priorities, or refuse to bring them up for a vote. ” Karla Raettig, Executive Director of Maryland LCV. “In particular, we are particularly concerned at the shelving of top environmental legislation, such as the styrofoam ban. These bills are supported by strong community-led coalitions with broad legislative support that key leaders in legislative committees refused a vote on. Once legislators return to Annapolis in January, Maryland LCV will be there to hold them accountable for their actions, or inactions.”

The organization also unveiled the 2018 “Green Champions,” an exceptional group of legislators whose superlative leadership on environmental legislation includes a current 2018 Environmental score of 100 percent, lifetime scores above 95 percent, and primary sponsorship of priority environmental legislation during the previous three years.

“We are proud to present our 2018 Green Champions, who are leading the way on environmental progress in Maryland,” said Ed Hatcher, Maryland LCV Board Chair.  “Our Green Champions not only vote right, but they also understand the urgency of the environmental agenda and are making it part of their political identity. We need to support them in every way we can.”

The thirteen legislators honored this year are Senators Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, Paul Pinsky, and Victor Ramirez, along with Delegates Luke Clippinger, David Fraser-Hidalgo, Bill Frick, Tawanna Gaines, Anne Healey, Steve Lafferty, Clarence Lam, Brooke Lierman, Shane Robinson, and Robbyn Lewis.

The scorecard is available online and includes records of votes cast on the floor of the House and Senate and in committees, along with past voting records.  Go to to see the scorecard and follow #MDLCVScore on social media.

Maryland LCV has also created an interactive map with legislative voting information, which provides Marylanders with contact information for their legislators.

# # #

 Maryland League of Conservation Voters (Maryland LCV) is a state-wide nonpartisan organization that uses political action and education to protect our air, land, public health, and water. Maryland LCV endorses and elects pro-conservation candidates and holds elected officials accountable through legislative scorecards. A leading legislative watchdog in Annapolis, we have advocated for smart environmental policies for almost 40 years, working to make Maryland a healthy and prosperous place for families and communities. Maryland LCV protects public health by fighting for restoration of the Chesapeake Bay and local waters, preserving green spaces, promoting smarter growth and increasing Maryland’s investment in clean energy.