Candidates Have Proven Conservation Commitments and Demonstrated Leadership

(Annapolis, MD) – Today the Maryland League of Conservation Voters (Maryland LCV) released its latest series of candidate endorsements for the Maryland General Assembly in the 2022 state primary elections. The organization said the candidates, for one Senate and 19 House seats (list attached), have all demonstrated pro-conservation commitments and leadership on environmental issues.

“Candidates who will fight for just and equitable environmental policy are crucial, as we were reminded during the recent outstanding legislative session,” said Lynn Heller, chair of the Maryland LCV board of directors. “The candidates we are endorsing are champions for both climate and environmental justice, and we look forward to working closely with them during election season and beyond.”

“The goal of Maryland LCV’s endorsement process is to ensure that Maryland voters have the information they need to elect strong conservation candidates,” said Maryland LCV Executive Director Kim Coble. “Climate change is the driving issue of our times, and these are the individuals who voters will be trusting to shape Maryland’s environmental future.” 

Before each state election, the Maryland League of Conservation Voters (Maryland LCV) board of directors and staff evaluate candidates’ responses to comprehensive questionnaires and conduct extensive interviews with dozens of candidates for office, including comptroller, attorney general, and governor as well as candidates for the Maryland House of Delegates and Senate. In the 2022 primary and General elections, Maryland LCV will once again campaign to elect pro-conservation candidates.

The up-to-date list of Maryland LCV’s 2022 endorsements can be found at More endorsements will be released in the coming weeks and months. 

Please follow us on social media @MDLCV and the hashtag #MDLCVEndorsed for more up-to-date environmental endorsements.

Maryland LCV is known for educating lawmakers and holding them accountable for their leadership and votes on key environmental issues. Their annual scorecard, along with other reports, helps inform voters about their legislators’ records.


Maryland League of Conservation Voters, 2022 Endorsements – May 16, 2022

Note: Districts listed are those that they represented during the 2019-2022 term. When the redistricted maps are finalized, we will be updating the list on our webpage. 


District 42 – Chris West


District 9A – Natalie Ziegler

District 10 – Jennifer White

District 10 – N. Scott Phillips

District 11A – Cheryl Pasteur

District 15 – Linda Foley

District 17 – Joe Vogel

District 22 – Nicole Williams

District 23 – Jocelyn Collins

District 24 – Jazz Lewis

District 27B – Rachel Jones

District 28 – Edith Patterson

District 30A – Dana Jones

District 30B – Courtney Buiniskis

District 40 – Marlon Amprey

District 41 – Tony Bridges

District 43 – Elizabeth Embry

District 44 – Aletheia McCaskill

District 45 – Stephanie Smith

District 47B – Deni Taveras