The John V. Kabler Award

Established in 2001, the John V. Kabler Memorial Award is presented annually to Maryland’s most outstanding environmental leaders and organizations. Motivated to act on behalf of the environment in the wake of the Three Mile Island crisis in the late 1970s, Kabler inspired a handful of his environmental colleagues to become active in political campaigns. Together these leaders founded the Maryland League of Conservation Voters in 1979. Until his death in 1996, John Kabler was a key leader of the Maryland conservation movement.

John V. Kabler Memorial Award Honorees

2019 – Bob Gallagher

2018 – Jeff Horstman on behalf of Shore Rivers

2017 – The 2016 Prince George’s County Promotores Class

2016 – The Central Maryland Beekeepers Association

2015 – Prince George’s County Department of the Environment Director Adam Ortiz

2014 – Nancy Davis and Ajax Eastman

2013 – 1000 Friends of Maryland Executive Director Dru Schmidt-Perkins

2012 – Maryland DNR Secretary John Griffin

2011 – Congressman Chris Van Hollen

2010 – Speaker of the House of Delegates- Mike Busch

2009 – U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski

2008 – Congressman Wayne T. Gilchrest

2007 – Former Governor Harry R. Hughes

2006 – U.S. Senator Joseph Tydings

2005 – Maryland’s Chesapeake Waterkeepers

2004 – Former EPA Administrator Russell Train

2003 – Maryland Senator Brian Frosh

2002 – U.S.Senator Paul Sarbanes

2001 – Governor Parris Glendening

The Legislator of the Year Award

Established in 2012, the Legislator of the Year Award honors the environmental champions from the most recent legislative session. Past recipients of the award include State Senator Paul Pinsky, Chairwoman Maggie McIntosh, Delegate Liz Bobo, Delegate Jim Hubbard, State Senator Catherine Pugh, Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo, and Chairman Kumar Barve.

Theodore Roosevelt Award

In recognition of the individual, group or organization whom through a specific action, event or body of work will leave a positive conservation legacy that mirrors the ethos of President Theodore R. Roosevelt.

2017Award to Emitsburg Mayor Don Briggs

2018Award to Salisbury Mayor Jake Day

2019Award to Business Owner Ryan James