2016 Environmental Leadership Awards


Brian Frosh has spent his career championing important environmental laws that protect the health and safety of all Marylanders, including the Maryland Recycling Act, a ban on oil drilling in the Chesapeake Bay, the Brownelds Revitalization Act, strict requirements for more ecient automobile emissions standards resulting in reduced carbon emissions and air pollution, and sti penalties for polluting our water and stealing state natural resources. As Maryland’s Attorney General, he now works to ensure those laws are enforced.


Under Collin O’Mara’s leadership, National Wildlife Federation is protecting wildlife ranging from bison to monarch butteries, ensuring healthy waters and sustainable habitats, advancing environmental education, and connecting people with the great outdoors. Prior to NWF, O’Mara led Delaware’s Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control, and he was a primary architect of the City of San Jose’s Green Vision.

JOHN V. KABLER AWARD to Central Maryland Beekeepers Association

This year the Central Maryland Beekeepers Association worked hard in Annapolis – along with other area beekeepers and the Smart on Pesticides Campaign – to lobby legislators and advocate for the Pollinator Protection Act. The “beeks” played an important role in Maryland becoming the first state in the country to pass restrictions on consumer use of toxic neonicitinoid pesticides, which harm bees, birds, butteries, and other wildlife.

LEGISLATOR OF THE YEAR AWARD to Senator Catherine Pugh

Senator Pugh has been a dedicated public servant representing Baltimore City since 1999. In 2007 she was elected to the State Senate where she has served as, among other things, Chair of the Legislative Black Caucus and as Senate Majority Leader. Her commitment to both clean energy and expanding economic opportunities for women and minorities merged in her successful sponsorship of the Clean Energy Jobs Act which expanded the goal of Renewable Portfolio Standard to 25% by the year 2020. She is the Democratic candidate for Mayor of Baltimore City

Thursday, October 13, 2016 Drinks and hors d’oeuvres – 6:00 p.m. Dinner and program – 7:00 p.m. Loews Annapolis Hotel 126 West Street, Annapolis, MD

Sponsorships start at $1,000 Individual tickets are $200

Green Champions
Ed Hatcher, The Hatcher Group

Gold Sponsors
Harriett Crosby, Alan Griffith, Mike & Trish Davis, Dave & Katie Leavy, Don & Cathy MacMurray, Bambeco, Chesapeake Bay Foundation, U.S. Wind and Winning Connections

Silver Sponsors
                             Hon. Virginia Clagett, Marcia Verploegen Lewis & Tom Lewis, Jeff Schwaber & Liz Shrayer, Maris St. Cyr, Catherine Dea & Ken Code, Alison & Arnold Richman, Hobart K. & Janis Swan, Dick & Georgie Franyo, DunlapBrowder, League of Conservation Voters and Hannon Armstrong

Bronze Sponsors
District 15 Team: Sen. Brian Feldman, Del. Kathleen Dumais, Del. David Fraser Hidalgo &  Del. Aruna Miller, District 16 Team: Sen. Susan Lee, Del. Bill Frick, Del. Ariana Kelly & Del. Marc Korman, District 39 Team: Sen. Nancy King, Del. Charles Barkley, Del. Kirill Reznick & Del. Shane Robinson, Speaker Mike Busch, Councilwoman Mary Lehman, Hon. Joe Tydings, Rusty & Liz Gowland, Bob Gallagher & Cate Greene, John Dawes, Terry Lierman, Oscar Ramirez, Chuck & Jenn Porcari, Jeff Eckel, The Kabler Family, Annapolis Yacht Sales, Bell Nursery, Chesapeake Conservancy, Gally Public Affairs, HD Squared Architects, National Wildlife Federation, Spitfire, SB Microsystems, Trash Free Maryland and Winchester Construction

Thursday, October 13, 2016 Time: 6:00 PM
Loews Annapolis Hotel
126 West Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Contact Information
Ticket & Guest Information
Ticket LevelQuantity
TOTAL: $0 QTY: 0