From our Executive Director, Karla Raettig:

Annapolis, MD- Maryland League of Conservation Voters is proud to stand with the Don’t Frack Maryland coalition in the bipartisan victory in banning hydraulic fracturing, or fracking, in the state of Maryland today with Governor Hogan’s signature making it law.

When the Maryland General Assembly passed the fracking moratorium in 2015, our leaders wanted to enact policy that matched the science behind it. With waves of grassroots support such as Annapolis Fracking March, over 1,000 of our Maryland neighbors stood together to protect our air, land, water, and health. Our elected officials heard us and now we are here today permanently protected from this unsafe practice.

The science and policy are now in alignment to protect all Marylanders from fracking. This would not be possible without the tireless support from our legislative leaders, Chairman Kumar Barve, Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo, Delegate Shane Robinson, Chairwoman Joan Carter-Conway, Senator Bobby Zirkin, Senator Paul Pinsky, Senator Roger Manno, and others in championing this cause and blazing a trail for our neighboring states.