On September 16th, we unveiled our first group of “Green Champions,” an exceptional group of legislators whose superlative leadership on environmental legislation includes lifetime scores above 95 percents and primary sponsorship of priority environmental legislation during the previous three years. The ten legislators honored this year are Senators Cheryl Kagan, Paul Pinsky, and Victor Ramirez, along with Delegates David Fraser-Hidalgo, Bill Frick, Tawanna Gaines, Steve Lafferty, Clarence Lam, Brooke Lierman, and Shane Robinson. Each week we will shine a spotlight on our champions and showcase a video of them. This week is Senator Cheryl Kagan, who represents district 17 in Montgomery County.

Senator Cheryl Kagan

I’m Cheryl Kagan and I’m  very proud to be the Senator representing Gaithersburg and Rockville. I’m also very proud to have a 100% voting record and partner with the Maryland League of Conservation Voters and the rest of our environmental community. I serve on the Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs where we deal with many of the issues that affect our Chesapeake Bay and  our environmental quality. I am sponsoring the polystyrene ban bill again, bringing it back with Delegate Lierman, where it has already been banned in Montgomery county, Prince George’s county, D.C., the City of Gaitherburg,  and about 80 other jurisdictions. Let’s get it done. Here’s to victory in educating voters and making sure they vote in June and November in 2018!

Check out her video interview.