​On September 16th, we unveiled our first group of “Green Champions,” an exceptional group of legislators whose superlative leadership on environmental legislation includes lifetime scores above 95 percents and primary sponsorship of priority environmental legislation during the previous three years. The ten legislators honored this year are Senators Cheryl Kagan, Paul Pinsky, and Victor Ramirez, along with Delegates David Fraser-Hidalgo, Bill Frick, Tawanna Gaines, Steve Lafferty, Clarence Lam, Brooke Lierman, and Shane Robinson. Each week we will shine a spotlight on our champions and showcase a video of them. This week is Delegate Brooke Lierman, who represents district 46 in Baltimore City.

Brooke Lierman

“As a mom and community advocate who lives in an urban area near the water, I know that quality of life goes hand in hand with the health of our natural environment. From supporting local stormwater remediation efforts, tree plantings, and innovative approaches like Mr. Trash Wheel in Baltimore to pushing for statewide trash-reduction initiatives like plastic bag and styrofoam bans, I am dedicated to cleaning our neighborhoods and waterways of destructive and unhealthy trash and ensuring we are leaving future generations a cleaner state.”

The scorecard is available online and includes records of votes cast on the floor of the House and Senate and in committees, along with past voting records.  Go to http://scorecard.mdlcv.org to see the scorecard and follow #MDLCVScore on social media. We’ve also created an interactive map with legislative voting information, which provides Marylanders with contact information for their legislators.