2023 Environmental Leadership Awards

Maryland League of Conservation Voters Names 2023 Environmental Leadership Awards

Liz Burdock, Senator Benjamin T. Brooks, Sr, Chair Luke H. Clippinger, Delegate Lorig Charkoudian, and Delegate Dana Stein to be honored.

Maryland League of Conservation Voters will present five awards at their upcoming Changemakers: Celebrating Environmental Leaders event on October 5th honoring Marylanders who have demonstrated vision, leadership, and courage in protecting clean water, healthy air, and climate-resilient communities. 

“Because of the urgency of the climate crisis, our Changemakers event this year will focus on Maryland’s pledge to achieve 100 percent clean energy by 2035,” said Kim Coble, Executive Director of Maryland League of Conservation Voters (Maryland LCV). “Each of this year’s awardees has demonstrated extraordinary leadership in moving Maryland towards our clean energy future.”

Liz Burdock, President & CEO of the Business Network for Offshore Wind, will be honored as the John V. Kabler Memorial award recipient for her long-standing dedication to advance offshore wind. The award is dedicated to John Kabler’s enduring memory and the principles on behalf of the environment he fought for and cared about so deeply. 

Senator Benjamin T. Brooks, Sr. (district 10, Baltimore County) and Delegate Luke H. Clippinger (district 46, Baltimore City) will be honored by the Maryland LCV as the organization’s 2023 Legislators of the Year. Maryland LCV’s Legislator of the Year Award, established in 2012, honors environmental champions from the most recent legislative session. Awardees are selected based on leadership and commitment to promote and pass equitable laws and policies for clean water, healthy air, and climate resilient communities. The pair will be recognized for their leadership roles in the passage of the Community Solar bill during the 2023 General Assembly legislative session.

Delegate Lorig Charkoudian (district 20, Montgomery County) and Delegate Dana Stein (district 11B, Baltimore County) will be honored as Climate Champion awardees, an award created to highlight leaders who have been working tirelessly to bring forward strong environmental legislation.

“At a time when the global climate crisis continues to harm communities in our State, our mission at Maryland League of Conservation Voters is more essential than ever before,” said Coble. “The collaborative efforts of elected officials, business leaders, community advocates, and nonprofit organizations are key to advancing Maryland toward a 100% clean energy future and creating equitable environmental policies. We are proud to honor the 2023 Environmental Leaders.”

Join us in honoring our awardees at the 2023 Changemakers: Celebrating Environmental Leaders event on October 5, 2023 at the Colwell Center in Baltimore. Tickets and sponsorship are available at www.mdlcv.org/changemakers