Environmental Leadership Awards

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Thursday, October 13, 2016 Drinks and hors d’oeuvres - 6:00 p.m. Dinner and program - 7:00 p.m. Loews Annapolis Hotel 126 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401


Brian Frosh has spent his career championing important environmental laws that protect the health and safety of all Marylanders, including the Maryland Recycling Act, a ban on oil drilling in the Chesapeake Bay, the Brownelds Revitalization Act, strict requirements for more ecient automobile emissions standards resulting in reduced carbon emissions and air pollution, and sti penalties for polluting our water and stealing state natural resources. As Maryland’s Attorney General, he now works to ensure those laws are enforced.


Under Collin O’Mara’s leadership, National Wildlife Federation is protecting wildlife ranging from bison to monarch butteries, ensuring healthy waters and sustainable habitats, advancing environmental education, and connecting people with the great outdoors. Prior to NWF, O’Mara led Delaware’s Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control, and he was a primary architect of the City of San Jose’s Green Vision.

JOHN V. KABLER AWARD goes to the Central Maryland Beekeepers Association  

This year the Central Maryland Beekeepers Association worked hard in Annapolis – along with other area beekeepers and the Smart on Pesticides Campaign – to lobby legislators and advocate for the Pollinator Protection Act. The “beeks” played an important role in Maryland becoming the rst state in the country to pass restrictions on consumer use of toxic neonicitinoid pesticides, which harm bees, birds, butteries, and other wildlife.

LEGISLATOR OF THE YEAR AWARD goes to Senator Catherine Pugh

Senator Pugh has been a dedicated public servant representing Baltimore City since 1999. In 2007 she was elected to the State Senate where she has served as, among other things, Chair of the Legislative Black Caucus and as Senate Majority Leader. Her commitment to both clean energy and expanding economic opportunities for women and minorities merged in her successful sponsorship of the Clean Energy Jobs Act which expanded the goal of Renewable Portfolio Standard to 25% by the year 2020. She is the Democratic candidate for Mayor of Baltimore City.

Sponsorships start at $1,000 Contact Karen Doory at 202-281-8780 or kdoory@mdlcv.org to sign up as a sponsor.

Sponsors: Ed Hatcher, The Hatcher Group, Bambeco, Alan Griffith, Mike & Trish Davis, Dave & Katie Leavy, U.S. Wind Winning Connections, Marcia Verploegen Lewis & Tom Lewis, Maris St. Cyr, Arnold & Alison Richman, Hannon Armstrong, Bob Gallagher & Cate Greene, Oscar Ramirez, Hon. Virginia Clagett, Chuck & Jenn Porcari, Jeff Eckel, and Trash Free Maryland



126 West Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
United States