2017 Environmental Leadership Awards Dinner- SOLD OUT

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Join us for our Annual Dinner where we honor environmental leaders in Maryland, SOLD OUT

2017 Chesapeake Champion Award: Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Chesapeake Bay Foundation (CBF) the largest independent conservation organization dedicated solely to saving the Chesapeake Bay. Serving as a watchdog, they fight for effective, science-based solutions to the pollution degrading the Chesapeake Bay and its rivers and streams. Their motto, "Save the Bay," is a regional rallying cry for pollution reduction throughout the Chesapeake's six-state, 64,000-square-mile watershed, which is home to more than 17 million people and 3,000 species of plants and animals. As CBF celebrates their 50th anniversary we thank them for their commitment to Maryland's environment and we are pleased to present them with the Chesapeake Champion Award.

2017 Legislator of the Year: Delegate Kumar Barve

Delegate Kumar Barve has championed many environmental issues over the years that have helped protect Maryland’s air, land, water and people. This year, he is receiving our Legislator of the Year award for his work passing legislation to permanently ban hydraulic fracturing (fracking) in Maryland.  While this was certainly the highest profile environmental victory this year, as Chairman of the Environment and Transportation Committee, he has helped guide many successful campaigns this year- from protecting pollinator habitats, to advancing the cause of clean energy, to ensuring sustainable oyster fisheries. 

2017 John V. Kabler Award: 2016 Prince George's County Promotores Class

Chispa Maryland’s 2016 Class of Environmental Justice and Action Promotores are 13 women who were selected to participate in Chispa Maryland’s highest volunteer program. Chispa’s Environmental Justice and Action Promotores elevates Latino leaders and offers training on grassroots organizing within our own communities while building relationships of respect and dignity with members of the community. Since their graduation, these 13 leaders have been working to bring environmental issues, education and activism to fellow Latinos and people of color in schools, churches, community centers, parks and around our county.

Sponsored by: 
Conservation Champion ($20,000)
The Hatcher Group
Platinum ($10,000)

Chesapeake Bay Foundation, Deepwater Wind, U.S. Wind, Keith Campbell Foundation, Mike & Trish Davis, Katie & David Leavy and David Trone
Gold ($5,000)
Chesapeake Power, Inc., Winning Connections, Alan & Penny Griffith, Nina Rodale Houghton, Don & Cathy MacMurray
Silver ($2,500)
The Honorable Virginia Clagett, Amalgamated Bank, Boatyard Bar and Grill, HD Squared Architects, LLC, League of Conservation Voters,

Anonymous, Catherine Dea & Ken Code, Harriett Crosby, Robert Fleshner & Phyllis S. Aaronson, Rusty & Liz Gowland, Bruce & Kincey Potter, Alison & Arnie Richman, Jeff Schwaber & Liz Schrayer,
Hobart K. & Janis Swan, Maris St. Cyr
Bronze ($1,000)
The Honorable Rushern Baker, The Honorable Joseph Tydings, Del. Maggie McIntosh, Del. Shane Robinson, District 15 Team: Sen. Brian Feldman, Del. Kathleen Dumais, Del. David Fraser Hidalgo & Del. Aruna Miller, District 16 Team of: Sen. Susan Lee, Del. Ariana Kelly, and Del. Marc Korman, 

Annapolis Yacht Sales, DunlapBrowder, Gally Public Affairs, High Street Strategies, National Parks Conservation Association, The Nature Conservancy,
Christine Berg, M.D., Sam Bleicher, Donald Boesch, Bert Carp & Lynn McReynolds, Caroline Gabel, Bob Gallagher & Cate Greene, Verna Harrison, William & Chris Hufnell, Brian & Sarah Jamieson, Chuck & Jenn Porcari, Tom & Nancy Reynolds, Richard & Maureen Roden, Jim & Barbara Shea, Kitty & Rich Thomas, Bert & Debbie Winchester, Martha Van Woerkem, Marcia Verploegen Lewis & Tom Lewis


126 West Street,
Annapolis, MD 21401
United States