The Environmental Leadership Awards

Registration is Open! 

Now's the time to register as a sponsor and/or get your tickets. 

Maryland League of Conservation Voters Environmental Leadership Awards Dinner

Thursday, October 24, 2019

6:00pm @ The Westin Annapolis

It's our 40th year and we're going to rock the house! 

We'll recognize the 2019 Kabler Memorial Awardee Bob Gallagher, and conservation heroes Senator Brian Feldman, Senator Cheryl Kagan and Delegate Brooke Lierman (as well as additional awardees and inspiring speakers soon to be announced) while enjoying fabulous fare, and the company of Maryland's environmental and elected policy leaders. 


Contact Karen Doory ( to become a sponsor now

The John V. Kabler Award

Established in 2001, the John V. Kabler Memorial Award is presented annually to Maryland’s most outstanding environmental leaders and organizations. Motivated to act on behalf of the environment in the wake of the Three Mile Island crisis in the late 1970s, Kabler inspired a handful of his environmental colleagues to become active in political campaigns. Together these leaders founded the Maryland League of Conservation Voters in 1979. Until his death in 1996, John Kabler was a key leader of the Maryland conservation movement.

John V. Kabler Memorial Award Honorees

2018 - Jeff Horstman on behalf of Shore Rivers
2017- The 2016 Prince George’s County Promotores Class
2016- The Central Maryland Beekeepers Association
2015- Prince George’s County Department of the Environment Director Adam Ortiz
2014- Nancy Davis and Ajax Eastman
2013- 1000 Friends of Maryland Executive Director Dru Schmidt-Perkins
2012- Maryland DNR Secretary John Griffin
2011- Congressman Chris Van Hollen
2010- Speaker of the House of Delegates- Mike Busch
2009 - U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski
2008 - Congressman Wayne T. Gilchrest
2007 - Former Governor Harry R. Hughes
2006 - U.S. Senator Joseph Tydings
2005 - Maryland's Chesapeake Waterkeepers
2004 - Former EPA Administrator Russell Train
2003 - Maryland Senator Brian Frosh
2002 - U.S.Senator Paul Sarbanes
2001 - Governor Parris Glendening


The Legislator of the Year Award

Established in 2012, the Legislator of the Year Award honors the environmental champions from the most recent legislative session. Past recipients of the award include State Senator Paul Pinsky, Chairwoman Maggie McIntosh, Delegate Liz Bobo, Delegate Jim Hubbard, State Senator Catherine Pugh, Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo, and Chairman Kumar Barve.

There are a number of levels at which you can support the Maryland League of Conservation Voters at our premier fundraising event. For more information, please contact
Karen Doory at